Skip To Main Content
* Offers Creative and Performing Arts (CAPA) special program
** Offers Creative and Performing Arts (CAPA) & Gifted Academy special programs
*** Offers Adult Education program

Special Program Schools

Special program schools give RPS 205 families a public education option outside of their regular neighborhood school.

Our six special programs span from PreK to grade 12. Enrollment is by audition, testing or lottery for students across the Rockford community.

The 2024-2025 Pre-K and Kindergarten Lottery is now closed. We accepted applications from Wednesday, January 3, 2024 to Friday, March 8, 2024. If you have missed the lottery deadline, you may submit an Interest Form application once it re-opens soon. 

Watch this video to learn more about the Special Program Lottery Schools and the lottery application process.

 

 

Explore RPS 205 Special Program Schools

CAPA, West middle, Auburn high logos

Creative and Performing Arts (CAPA)

RPS 205 students have access to quality fine arts programs. Our creative and performing arts (CAPA) program encourages middle and high school students to further explore the arts.

Learn more about CAPA at West Middle School and how to join the family.

Learn more about CAPA at Auburn High School and how to join the family.


 

Marshall elementary, Marshall middle, Auburn high school logos

Gifted Academy

Rockford students qualify for the Gifted Academy testing in kindergarten, and eligibility tests are administered every year for new applicants in subsequent grade levels. The program starts in first grade and continues through high school.

Learn more about the Gifted Academy at Thurgood Marshall Elementary (grades 1-4) and how to join the family.

Learn more about the Gifted Academy at Thurgood Marshall School (grades 5-8) and how to join the family.

Learn more about the Gifted Academy at Auburn High School and how to join the family.


 

International Baccalaureate (IB) Candidate School decorative header

International Baccalaureate Program

Rockford Public Schools has launch an International Baccalaureate (IB) Candidate School at Conklin Elementary School (K-5) in Fall 2023. The following school year of 2024-2025 will have up to 6th grade.

Learn about the IB program and how to join the family.


 

Montessori Mustangs

Maria Montessori at Marsh

Our Maria Montessori program provides self-guided learning experiences to students in pre-k through eighth grade.

Learn more about Montessori and how to join the family


 

STEAM Academy logo

STEAM Academy at Haskell

Haskell welcomes K-5 students from all over the district who are interested in a STEAM education. The STEAM Academy at Haskell integrates science and technology, interpreted through engineering and the arts, all based in mathematical elements.

Learn more about STEAM and how to join the family


 

Barbour logo

Two-Way Language Immersion at Barbour

Our two-way language immersion program lets kindergarten through eighth grade students learn and grow in a bilingual environment.

Learn more about Two-Way Language Immersion and how to join the family

Special Program Schools Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, May 26
Mon, May 27
Tue, May 28
Wed, May 29
Thu, May 30
Fri, May 31
Sat, Jun 1
Sun, Jun 2
Mon, Jun 3
Tue, Jun 4
Wed, Jun 5
Thu, Jun 6
Fri, Jun 7
Sat, Jun 8
Sun, Jun 9
Mon, Jun 10
Tue, Jun 11
Wed, Jun 12
Thu, Jun 13
Fri, Jun 14
Sat, Jun 15
Sun, Jun 16
Mon, Jun 17
Tue, Jun 18
Wed, Jun 19
Thu, Jun 20
Fri, Jun 21
Sat, Jun 22
Sun, Jun 23
Mon, Jun 24
Tue, Jun 25
Wed, Jun 26
Thu, Jun 27
Fri, Jun 28
Sat, Jun 29
Sun, Jun 30
Mon, Jul 1
Tue, Jul 2
Wed, Jul 3
Thu, Jul 4
Fri, Jul 5
Sat, Jul 6

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • Special Program Schools

Special Programs Overview

Special programs calendar

Questions?

Tiffany Vang 
Special Programs Coordinator

tiffany.vang@rps205.com